book review

Review! Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – J.K Rowling (SPOILERS)

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-themWhen Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone…

Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them marks the screen writing debut of J.K Rowling, author of the beloved internationally best-selling Harry Potter books. Featuring a cast of remarkable characters, this is epic, adventure-packed storytelling at its very best.

Whether an existing fan or new to the wizarding world, this is a perfect addition to any reader’s bookshelf. – Blurb taken from Goodreads.

This is going to be a lot shorter than my usual reviews, simply because I find screenplays extremely hard to review, but I’ll be back to my usual length reviews shortly!

“My philosophy is that worrying means you suffer twice.”

Another addition from our beloved J.K Rowling to our favourite wizarding world; plot twist, I actually didn’t mind this one! It’s still not Harry Potter, but it’s a new story, with new characters, meaning I don’t have to be disappointed when my favourite ones grow up and change into people they weren’t beforehand.

Once again, the fact that it’s written in script form makes ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them‘ a really quick and easy read, meaning I got through it in near enough two sittings. It’s definitely fun to read, and a couple of the character’s are very loveable. I do find screenplays extremely hard to review, as to me there’s not really a lot to them, but after writing one myself I understand and appreciate the work and effort that goes into one, and I applaud J.K Rowling for creating this wonderful addition to the wizarding world we all know and love. That being said, I really wish ‘Fantastic Beasts‘ had been written and released in novel form, as I feel I would have gotten more enjoyment from it that way. 

“People are easiest to read when they are hurting.”

Overall, I did enjoy this screenplay, but I found myself longing for the magical excited feeling that used to overwhelm me when I picked up a Harry Potter book, or saw the trailer for one of the new film releases. I hate to say it, but I’m just not excited over the wizarding world anymore. That’s not to say I won’t continue buying and reading any new additions to the world that J.K Rowling may release in the future, I’m just saying that nothing quite compares to the original magical trio that almost became my fictional best friends as I grew up. 

I gave ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them‘ another three star rating, and I’m looking forward to getting round to watch the film adaptation. 

Let me know what your feelings are towards the new additions to the wizarding world are!

Keep On Reading!

Leave a Reply

