book review

Review! The Call – Peadar O’Guilin

31565971“Your people drove them out of their homes. Thousands of years later they turn up again – and they’re gonna wipe you out.
THREE MINUTES…
On her birthday, Nessa finds out the terrible truth about her homeland, Ireland – the truth that will change her future forever.
TWO MINUTES…
That she and her friends must train for the most dangerous three minutes of their lives: THE CALL.
ONE MINUTE…
That any day now, without warning, they will each wake in terrifying land, alone and hunted, with a one in ten chance of returning alive.
And it is Nessa, more than anyone, who is going to need every ounce of the guts, wit, and sheer spirit she was born with, if she – and the nation – are to survive!”

Going into this book with such high expectations meant that I couldn’t enjoy it as much as I hoped I would. ‘The Call‘ is described by many as gruesome, grim, and terrifying, and after seeing many reviews explaining how readers how to physically put the boook down due to it being to horrifying, (jessethereader The Call ReviewI was greatly looking forward to being scared stupid… But all I was, was confused and disappointed.

“A horn sounds. The call has begun.”

It wasn’t that I didn’t enjoy the book, because I did, however the entire story line is based on Irish folklore, and so if you don’t already have an understanding of it, I think ‘The Call‘ might be a bit lost on you. It comes across as though Peadar O’Guilin wrote ‘The Call‘ with the expectation that everybody knows about Irish folklore, as he offers little explanation throughout the whole book.

The book is based around the idea that during their teenage years, everybody in Ireland will be ‘called‘ to the Grey Land where they have 3 minutes and 4 seconds in the real world, 24 hours in the Grey Land, to survive being hunted by the Sidhe. Only 1 in 10 teenagers come back alive, and those that do are often mutilated or heavily disfigured in extreme, horrific ways. Easily comparable with ‘The Hunger Games‘, O’Guilin’s novel also deals with disability, romance, and the idea of how power can have a negative influence on a person. 

“You have three minutes to save your life.”

Personally, I disliked the writing style, however, if I was to highlight a positive about it, I would say that it worked well in making the book impossible to put down, and a fast paced read. I managed to plough through this novel in just two sittings, however I was disappointed that it didn’t leave any lasting impressions on me. I found the plot a little predictable, and didn’t really connect with the characters. That being said, I did end up giving this book 3 stars on Goodreads as I still found this an enjoyable book, and it definitely helped me to get out of my SEVERE reading slump. 

Have any of you guys read ‘The Call‘? Did you find it horrifying? Let me know!

Keep On Reading!

Leave a Reply

