Let's Talk Tuesday:

Let’s Talk Tuesday: New Additions to the Wizarding World!

“Mr. and Mrs. Dursley of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.”

0affa453000005dc-3287124-image-a-2_1445643755593As a member of the generation that grew up alongside the character’s of the ‘Harry Potter‘ series, it was sad to see their story end in the final book. But all good things must come to an end, and that applies to Harry Potter too… or so I thought.

Harry Potter and his adventures in the wizarding world are a part of a lot of good memories for me; I remember when my parents would go and see the new film first to make sure it wasn’t too scary for me to watch, and when my lovely Nan would buy all the grand kids the latest book. The series was something that the majority of my generation had in common, but in ways, it was still personal to each individual. For some people, the wizarding world was an escape, something to take their mind off things, for others, 2dtbouolike me, it was a huge chunk of their childhood; a comforting, family film to watch on cold, winter evenings, a cast of characters to provide happiness and laughter

The films for ‘Harry Potter‘ are the only book to movie adaptations that I can honestly say, for 556a0b44-17b5-429c-8954-2dc926bfbc70me, stayed true to the books. They’re the kind of films I can watch over and over and never get bored, the kind that make me feel the same way they did the first time I watched them. Hogwarts, both the fictional and on-screen version, became a familiar sight, one I looked forward to seeing time and time again, and I never tired of the Weasley’s home, the Forbidden Forest, the staircases, Hogsmeade and Diagon Alley. The worlcruciod of ‘Harry Potter‘ became as familiar to me as my own home. 

That’s why the concept of an American wizarding world, Ilvermorny, doesn’t sit well
with me. I already had issues with ‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, for one, it’s NOT the 8th book, to me it was more of a spin off book, focusing on the children. Which brings up another issue I had. I grew up with Harry, Ron, Hermione, Ginny and Draco, I aged as they aged, but now all of a sudden they’re adults, married with children, whilst I’m still eighteen. I could tolerate ‘The Cursed Child‘ though, it still featured the characters I’d known and loved, although I’d have preferred and actual book rather than a script.

fantasticbeastsposterSo then came ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them‘. IT IS NOT HARRY POTTER. I’m so reluctant to buy this book, as once again it’s written in the form of a script. I love the idea of broadening the wizarding world, lots of authors broaden the worlds they’ve created, take, for instance, the Shadowhunting world in Cassandra Clare’s novels. But they always remain linked in one way or another, characters from each book crop up every now and then, there’s consistency. J.K Rowling is an amazing author, but it saddens me that we are no longer getting stories from the magic world in book form, rather scripts that only a take a few hours to get through without interruptions. I miss the excitement that everyone would feel when a new book or film was released, and I’m just not seeing that now. Normally the idea of additional content to some I love so much would really excite me, make me feel so happy, but the new releases just aren’t doing that for me anymore. That being said, I will probably go to see the new film, and I’ll potentially read the script, but only to keep in with tradition, as I have been doing ever since I was little.

To me, ‘Harry Potter‘ and the wizarding world will always be those first 7 books, a story of friendship, discovering who you are, finding family, and of course magic. I will always think of Hogwarts, and the three young kids I grew up with, not Ilvermorny or the children of Harry & Ginny, Hermione & Ron, and Draco.

“The scar had not pained Harry for 19 years. All was well.”

What are your guys opinions of the new additions? Do you like them? Do you agree? Let me know!

Keep On Reading!

Leave a Reply

