Halfway Point Reviews · Shadowhunters

Clockwork Prince – Halfway Point!

clockwork-prince-9781481456012_hr“In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, but her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.”

I was so looking forward to picking this up, I jumped straight into as soon as I finished 6ec58d1d3ec7d49e6545fc747bf655c8Clockwork Angel‘, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t struggle in the beginning. I have a tendency when binge reading series, to get halfway through and suddenly be unable to really engage with the story and the characters, and so I took a break from ‘Clockwork Prince‘ when I realised I wasn’t actually taking in anything that was happening. I hoped that taking a break and reading something else would mean that when I came back to this book I’d be able to become engrossed straight away, but unfortunately that wasn’t the case. The whole time that the council meeting was going on I honestly just couldn’t get involved with the story line. However, this wasn’t enough to put me off reading the rest of the book, I just found that I got more from the beginning of ‘Clockwork Angel‘ than I did from ‘Clockwork Prince‘.

8486eb516d6093c75403bd9dfee74965It wasn’t really until the end of Chapter 2 that I really started to become engrossed in the book when Sophie caught Jessamine sneaking out, dressed as a boy, which had me so confused, considering how much Jessamine comes across a a typical ‘lady’, in her manner and her clothes. Again, I really enjoyed learning more about Sophie’s feelings for Jem and reading from her perspective, as it really gave her character some more depth, and as I said in my ‘Clockwork Angel’ Review this was still refreshing, as it’s not often that a focus on a side character’s development is shown. I adore Sophie’s character! And props to her for slapping Gabriel right across the face, because by the Angel if I could have found some way into the 088ccc025841648e3c625cfeb4bc95e0pages of this book I would have done it myself! Her loyalty and dedication to Charlotte really shines through in this scene though, in the way that she worries that she has acted improper and that Charlotte would be ashamed, and I think this is admirable, and a strong contrast to Will’s character, but more on him later.
And oh do I ship Sophie and Gideon! I understand Tessa’s worry about the whole situation, but Gideon seems so genuine and so unlike his brother that you can’t help but hope that he and Sophie can be together, because of all the characters in the book that deserve romance, Sophie does by far!

1be758a05d70b93fce7dc8d54080ed25While we’re on the topic of ships… JESSA. Move over Will, yes you’re concerned about the curse and know that by allowing people to love you you’re basically sentencing them to death, but that doesn’t mean you have to be so cruel to people, and I’m sorry but the Wessa first kiss has nothing on the Jessa first kiss. Cassandra Clare’s writing is so beautiful, and I was entranced by this whole scene. Jem is such a gentlemen, the way he hesitates before doing anything, and I felt awful for him when his box of drugs crashed to the floor. The love triangle is so much more obvious in this book, but Jem’s character development is so strong, and, as with Will, we see sides of him that we didn’t get chance to in ‘Clockwork Angel‘, for example his pure rage towards Will when he finds him in the Opium den. 

I adore Will, honestly I do, and I enjoyed learning about his past that he works so hard 05a988590685d6b3ccf3f6d30f9080c3to keep a secret, I think I was just as shocked as he was when Cecily was introduced to the story, but he’s such a closed book, and I find it hard to relate to him. That being said, my heart broke for him when we learnt of the curse that was placed upon him, and how his sister had died, but I just wish he would tell that to Charlotte, Jem, Tessa and the others, instead of being so horrid! It’s so incredibly obvious, without him admitting it to Magnus, that he’s in love with Tessa, but seeing him treat her so hideously, rather than be honest with her is horrible!

Story line-wise, I’m hoping the Clockwork automatons make a return, after so far only having one introduced to the plot. I absolutely love the idea of a Clockwork army, and keep picturing them marching over Blackfriars Bridge from one end, with the Shadowhunter’s at the other. It’s definitely a lot slower paced than the first book, which didn’t help with my initial struggles, but I’m loving finding out all the little bits of information and trying to piece them together alongside Charlotte and the others at the Institute, and I cannot wait to find out what on Earth Jessamine is up to!

So far, now I’ve got past my reader’s block (if that’s even a thing), I’m enjoying ‘Clockwork Angel‘ alot! My worry about Jem’s illness is ever growing, especially after his coughing fit in front of Charlotte, my curiosity about Jessamine is increasing, and I really hope Sophie gets a legendary moment!

My Rating So Far: ★★★☆☆

Keep On Reading!

One thought on “Clockwork Prince – Halfway Point!

Leave a Reply

