book review

Review! Percy Jackson & The Lightening Thief – Rick Riordan (SPOILERS)

poseidon-cartoon-illustration-isolated-white-45759082
Poseidon

I know I’ve been doing a lot of fantasy posts recently, and I promise I’ll do some reviews of other genres soon, I’m just really into my fantasy at the minute, and can you blame me with some of the amazing series there are out there?!

 

Genre: Young Adult, Fiction
Adventure, Middle Grade
Published: March 1st 2006, Disney Hyperion Books
Series: Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1
Camp Half-Blood Chronicles #1
Format: Paperback

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

I feel like this review may possibly qualify as an unpopular opinion…
I know almost everyone on booktube absolutely ADORED the ‘Percy Jackson‘ series, but so far, for me it’s nothing special. Granted, it was an enjoyable read, but nothing really grabbed at me and made me think it’s one of the best books that I’ve read.

That being said, I will continue to read the rest of the books in the series, and who knows, maybe my opinion will change as the books go on. As I mentioned in myfuries-1 ‘Halfway Point’ review, the book is very fast paced, it almost straight away jumps into the action, drawing us in through a fight between Percy and Mrs Dodds, in which Mr Brunner throws Percy a pen in order to help it. Little did Percy know that the pen actually becomes a sword (Riptide) when the lid is removed. This is our first hint as to what the book may be about, as afterwards we come to learn that there was no such tutor as Mrs Dodds, and things start to go a bit odd… Later on in the book we learn that Mrs Dodds is actually one of the three Furies, the chief servants of Hades, and has been sent after Percy. The Furies weren’t my favourite enemies in the book I have to be honest, and their portrayal in the film, if I remember rightly, sort of freaked me out a little, that’s not to say I didn’t enjoy the parts with them in though!

bfa45f18c493fdb099ec852999870555I absolutely LOVED the chapter that featured Medusa! I’d completely forgotten about this part of the film until reading the book, and I was pleasantly surprised! It was so clever how the lady she posed as was named Aunty ‘M’, and the subtle hints about hearing hissing sounds really added to the intensity of this part of the book. I couldn’t help but laugh at Grover when he thought one of the statues resembled his Uncle Ferdinand. Percy, Annabeth and Grover’s encounter with Medusa was by far one of my favourite moments of ‘The Lightening Thief’, and I loved how at the end of the book Percy’s mom used her severed head to turn Gabe to stone and get money to move out and live her own life! What a way to get revenge!

For me, the whole ‘flying shoes that were actually meant fopercyjackson6r Percy but ended up with Grover and nearly caused his death’ plot was a little too predictable from the moment Luke handed them over to Percy. Maybe it’s because of the book being middle grade
and aimed at young readers, but I just found the idea of the shoes going wrong a little obvious, but again, it was still enjoyable and maybe if I’d have read the book at a younger age I wouldn’t have guessed what was going to happen to so early on in the book, who knows.

tumblr_o6dqaco5lb1tlji4to1_500Don’t get me wrong, I loved Percy, Annabeth and Grover, they were the perfect trio, although I wasn’t really sensing ‘Percabeth’ that much, so I’m assuming that they slowly start to become more of a thing as the books go on. But can we talk about Luke for a minute?! Okay, yes, he’s the bad guy that tried to have Percy killed with hellhound, and then the winged shoes, and then a pit scorpion, and he was working alongside Kronos. But if we forget all of that for a minute, I’d say he’s possibly my favourite character, not to mention the actor who plays him in the film is quite nice to look at… and I wish we would have seen more of him in this book, but I realise that would have detracted from the main plot, so I look forward to seeing more of him throughout the rest of the series! 

Overall, I did enjoy ‘Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief‘, I just didn’t love it as much as everyone else seems to, to me it’s over hyped. It’s fast-paced and a quick and easy read, so ideal for if you want something that doesn’t require a lot of thought to understand, and learning about Greek mythology as you read is really enjoyable, along with the humorous chapter titles that literally tell you what’s happening in them. I’ll definitely continue to read the series, I just wish I’d have picked it up when I was younger so I’d be able to enjoy them to their full potential!

Have you read the ‘Percy Jackson‘ series? What did you think of it? Leave a comment and let me know, I’d love to know your opinions!

Keep On Reading! 

One thought on “Review! Percy Jackson & The Lightening Thief – Rick Riordan (SPOILERS)

Leave a Reply

