Sample Sunday:

Sample Sunday: Everland – Wendy Spinale!

‘Sample Sunday’ is an idea I had when I was searching through iBooks, trying to find something new to read. Often I don’t tend to download books onto my phone/tablet, as I prefer to have a proper book in my hands, but I find the idea of downloading a sample of a book before buying it very handy, as it allows me to read enough of the book to know if I’ll like it or not. So I thought why not share my thoughts on sample’s I’ve read with you!

26085520The only way to grow up is to survive.

London has been destroyed in a blitz of bombs and disease. The only ones who have survived the destruction and the outbreak of a deadly virus are children, among them sixteen-year-old Gwn Darling and her younger siblings, Joanna and Mikey. They spend their nights scavenging and their days avoiding the deadly Marauders – the German army led by the cutthroat Captain Hanze Otto Oswald Kretschmer.

Unsure if the virus has spread past England’s borders but desperate to leave, Captain Hook is on the hunt for a cure, which he thinks can be found in one of the surviving children. He and his Marauders stalk the streets snatching children for experimentation. None ever return.

Until one day when they grab Joanna. Gwen will stop at nothing to get her sister back, but as she sets out, she crosses paths with a daredevil named Pete. Pete offers the assistance of his gang of Lost Boys and the fierce sharpshooter Bella, who have all been living in a city hidden underground. But in a place where help has a steep price and every promise is bound by blood, it might cost Gwen more than she bargained for. And are Gwen, Pete, the Lost Boys and Bella enough to outsmart the ruthless Captain Hook?”
-blurb taken from Goodreads.

Genre: Young Adult, Steampunk,
Fantasy, Retelling
Published: May 10th 2016, Scholastic Press
Series: Everland #1
Format: iBooks

Everland‘ is a steampunk fairytale retelling of ‘Peter Pan‘ set in London, written by Wendy Spinale. From what I gathered from the first chapter I read, Gwen, Joanna and Pete’s parents are believed to be dead, so as the oldest sibling, it is Gwen’s responsibility to look after them and keep them safe. This is clearly causing issues between her and Joanne, who says that Gwen made a better sister than she ever did mother. Gwen leaves, and goes to scavenge around for food and useful items in the streets they’re hiding out in, when the Marauders are sent out to find ‘Immunes’, children that have survived the virus that has killed so many. Enter the standard plot that has been seen time and time again, they must find the antidote to the virus, and there is only one child that can help. If my instincts are right, I’m fairly sure I could tell you who this one child is, just from reading the first chapter. 

When Gwen returns to her hideout she’s horrified to find her little sister has been

steampunk-peterpan-lowres_400w
Steampunk Peter Pan

taken by the Marauders. Mikey, who had taken Joanne’s advice and hidden, tells Gwen how ‘the pirates took her’. The point of view then switches over to Captain Hook, and the sample ends there.

So far, I’m hooked, no pun intended, on this book! I’m really enjoying the different take on ‘Peter Pan‘, as I’m only familiar with the film version, which is shameful, I know. I’m enjoying the characters, and the dark twist on story, and for some reason I’m subtly reminded of ‘Clockwork Angel‘ by Cassandra Clare, which is a definite bonus! I love the idea of alternative points of view, as opposed to chapters, however often I’m put off by books written in this way, as they don’t often work, but so far so good!

Will I be buying this book? Yes! I look forward to where the rest of the story takes me!

Keep On Reading!

Leave a Reply

