book review

Review! Elementals: The Prophecy Of Shadows – Michelle Madow

michellemadow_elementals_800px“Witches are real. They’re descendants of the Greek gods.

Nicole Cassidy is a witch descended from the Greek gods… but she doesn’t know it until she moves to a new town and discovers a dangerous world of magic and monsters that she never knew existed.

When the Olympian Comet shoots through the sky for the first time in three thousand years, Nicole and four others — including mysterious bad-boy Blake — are gifted with elemental powers. But the comet has another effect — it opens the portal to another dimension that has imprisoned the Titans for centuries. After an ancient monster escapes, it’s up to Nicole and the others to follow a cryptic prophecy in time to save the town… and possibly the world.” – blurb taken from Goodreads.

This week Benjaminoftomes over on Youtube did a video titled The Best Free Book Friday where he talked about Michelle Madow’s Elementals, and provided a link for watchers to download the first book of the series for free.

The Prophecy of Shadows‘ tells the story of Nicole Cassidy, who has moved from her home in Georgia to Boston, and is starting at a new school, where for some reason she has been placed in all Honours classes, and her classmates are Witches? As the story progresses we learn more about the Witches, and discover that they are in fact descendants of Greek Gods, and that is why they have their powers. However, for some reason, when the Olympian Comet shoots through the sky five of the classmates, including Nicole and Blake, gain powers that allow them to control one of the elements each. It’s up to them to follow the prophecy and save the town.galaxypastel

I think this book is perfect for fans of the ‘Percy Jackson‘ series by Rick Riordan as it follows the same idea of children being descendants of the Greek Gods, only instead of being Demigods they’re witches. But again, as I found with the ‘Lightening Thief‘, ‘The Prophecy of Shadows‘ is quite informative and educational if you were wanting to learn a bit about the Greek Gods and also the elements, as this is what the five main characters powers are able to control.

I also think fans of the ‘Harry Potter‘ series would enjoy this too, not only down to the storyline being based around Witches, but also because a few of the references to the series that I’ve noticed being made throughout the book: “an owl hadn’t dropped a letter down my fireplace to let me know I’d been accepted into a special school, and I certainly hadn’t taken an enchanted train to get to Kinsley High.”

I almost finished this book in one sitting, due to the fast paced story line. The short chapters make the book a quick and easy read, but that doesn’t detract from how enjoyable the storyline is. I really enjoyed going on an adventure with the characters as they learned more about their elements/powers and what they can do with them. The cast of characters are great, and I especially loved Nicole’s homeroom teacher Darius Faulkner, and found that Nicole was a very easy narrator and main protagonist to connect with. 098c8c566eefc97ef000731f73fd6478I’m not a huge fan of Danielle, purely because of how she treats humans as though they are beneath her and uses her magic with bad intentions, and she’s far too protective over Blake, who to me gave off the impression that he fancied himself as a bit of a trouble maker (“maybe my friends and I will show you how to have real fun with our abilities.”) but after the scene in the park with Nicole it seemed to me like maybe that was all just a front?

Overall I really enjoyed this take on Greek mythology as it’s something that greatly interests me and I had not seen it done this way before. This was the first book of Michelle’s that I’d read, and it definitely won’t be the last! 

My Rating: ★★★☆☆

In Michelle’s email she asked “If you could have any elemental power, which one would you want and why??” In answer to this, I chose the element of water. My reason for this will probably seem a bit strange, but this is because anything ocean/sea related freaks me out, so I think having the ability to control it would definitely help conquer my fear!

What element would you choose?
Keep On Reading!

2 thoughts on “Review! Elementals: The Prophecy Of Shadows – Michelle Madow

  1. Hello! Your blog is lovely!

    I actually saw Ben’s video yesterday and immediately went and grabbed a copy of the eARC! I am really looking forward to reading this one in the near future! I love that you mention the chapters are short. I love short chapters because it does move the story along 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! Thank you so much, that’s lovely! Ben’s one of my favourite booktubers, so I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to get my hands on a free book, especially when it’s at his recommendation, you can’t go wrong! It’s definitely well worth the read! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

