Halfway Point Reviews

Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief – Halfway Point!

percabeth
Percy and Annabeth

Being a part of the book blogging community, I feel as though sometimes there can be a little pressure to read certain series, such as the Percy Jackson series.

It pains me to admit that I did watch ‘Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief‘ before reading the book, but it was years ago and I can’t really recall what happened, so I’m going into the book with a fairly blank mind.

“Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.” – blurb from Goodreads.

seventh-demigod
Percy Jackson

So far I’m really enjoying ‘The Lightening Thief‘! I’m finding Rick Riordan’s writing style to be almost casual and conversational, making it fairly easy to connect with Percy as a main character and a narrator. The informality and simplicity of the language used definitely emphasises that these books are middle-grade and are aimed towards a younger audience, however that doesn’t make them any less enjoyable for an older audience, like myself.

Given that I only started reading this book last night and I’m past halfway, it’s safe to say it’s no doubt a quick and easy read if you want a break from those books that require a little extra thought to get your head around the story line.

That being said, I’m finding ‘Percy Jackson‘ to be very educational. As someone who doesn’t really know a lot about Greek Mythology and all of the Gods, I’m having a lot of fun learning about it all along with Percy!

camp-halfblood
Camp Half – Blood

Initially, I had no intentions of jumping on the ‘Percy Jackson‘ bandwagon, however I’m glad that I have now! It’s fast-paced and filled with action, making it almost impossible to put down, and so far I’m really loving all of the characters, especially Grover, who just has me falling about with laughter, along with some of the odd comments Percy makes. I’m really looking forward to seeing where the rest of the series takes me!

My Rating So Far: ★★★☆☆

Have you read the ‘Percy Jackson’ series? Let me know what you thought about it, and/or the films!

Keep On Reading!

Leave a Reply

