Shadowhunters · Thoughts On A Thursday

Thoughts On A Thursday: Clockwork Angel Review!

theinfernaldevices“In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters – including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organisation of vampires, demons, warlocks and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…” –blurb taken from goodreads.

Author: Cassandra Clare
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books/Walker Books/Simon & Schuster
Genre: Fantasy/Adventure

Rating: ★★★★★

obliviate

As far as first books in a series go, I absolutely loved ‘Clockwork Angel‘! From the first page I was drawn in and found it so easy to connect to the characters, especially Tessa, thrown into a city and another world that she knows nothing about. And, I mean who doesn’t love Will Herondale? Although, I am leaning more towards Jem Carstairs at the minute…

jemwilltessa
Jem Carstairs, William Herondale, Tessa Gray

So before I began this book, I heard a lot of reviews complaining about the idea of a love triangle. Now, I know alot of people dislike love triangles, but I can’t say I really have an issue with them. In my opinion ‘Clockwork Angel‘ focused mainly on the idea of Tessa and Will, with only subtle hints of Tessa’s feelings for Jem, however the love triangle started to become a little more noticeable towards the end of the book, so I look forward to see how that progresses! I also really enjoyed the hint of Thomas’ feelings toward Sophie, and Sophie’s toward Jem, it was really refreshing to read a book where smaller characters still got to have a story, and their feelings were still mentioned, especially with both Thomas and Sophie being more inferior, due to them being servant type characters.

I loved how sections of ‘The Shadowhunters Codex’ were included in the book so that as Tessa learnt more about the Shadow World, the readers did too. I think that this addition is perfect for those people who chose to read ‘The Infernal Devices’ before ‘The Mortal Instruments’ and may not know all that much about this other world.

 

nathaniel-gray
Nate Gray

Can we take a moment to talk about the twist in this book too?! I won’t go into it too much, so as not to spoil anyone, because it’s so much better to read without knowing anything at all, but I was so shocked! It definitely made the book all the more enjoyable to read and left a great gateway to the second book! No sooner had I  read the last page was I picking up ‘Clockwork Prince‘ and reading the Prologue of that to find out more!

I also really enjoyed the whole idea of Jessamine not really wanting to be a Shadowhunter, and rebelling against it in a way, as this is not something we’ve see before in a Shadowhunter novel, however it was great to see her step up and fight when she was needed. Throughout the ‘TMI‘ series I feel we were sort of led to believe that those born into Shadowhunting have no choice, and all grow to love it, so it was interesting to see an opposing view to this, especially from a girl’s perspective, as during the time period in which ‘The Infernal Devices‘ is set, women’s opinions were not really listened to.

jessaminelovelace
Jessamine Lovelace

I honestly adored this book, hence the 5 star rating! The relationship between Jem and Will had me laughing away, and the way Tessa refused to rise to Will’s remarks had me falling in love with her character! If I’m honest, Jessamine annoyed me, but as I said, it was interesting to see her view of Shadowhunting. ‘Clockwork Angel‘ was fast-paced, intense and full of laughter, shock and love, led by an amazing cast of characters who very quickly had me falling in love with them! I’d definitely recommend this series to anyone and everyone!

And remember… DEMON POX EXISTS!

Keep On Reading!

One thought on “Thoughts On A Thursday: Clockwork Angel Review!

Leave a Reply

