Let's Talk Tuesday:

Let’s Talk Tuesday: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

flagrate“A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.”

I’m going to come right out and say it. I really disliked what Tim Burton did with ‘Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children’, and whilst I know that Ransom Riggs himself approved of the changes made, I really enjoyed the book, and was disappointed by the inaccuracy of the film.

Let’s start with the opening line shall we? One of the most iconic lines of the book is “I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen.” It’s the line that got me hooked on this story, so when the film opened with something completely different I was more than disappointed. 

Where On Earth Is Ricky?!

Deciding to let that slide, I looked forward to watching the rest of the movie… That was until I thought to myself, where on Earth is Ricky? Granted, he was only a minor character, but he was with Jacob when he discovered his Grandpa, dead, and he was Jacob’s best friend in the book! Instead, Ricky has been replaced by Shelley, an older woman, who in the book is the manager of Smart Aid, the shop that Jacob works in, and dislikes him greatly. 

Rose? Or Apple?

rose-apple

So since the loop repeats the same day over and over, anything inside the loop never ages, thus meaning that anything that leaves the loop would age extremely quickly. In the book, Emma gives Jacob an apple whilst inside the loop, just before their first kiss. Jacob takes this with him when he leaves the loop, and places it on his bedside table when he goes to sleep. The next day the apple has rotted. Now, an apple is often symbolic of forbidden fruit, which could be referring to the fact that Emma, being an 80 year old woman, is not only a lot older than Jacob, but also dated his grandfather Abe, therefore potentially being a ‘forbidden’ relationship. So, imagine my annoyance at the apple actually being replaced by  a rose in the film! Yes, a rose is more romantic, and it’s again, only a minor change, but come on Tim, you haven’t got to change ever minor detail!

Emma and Olive Peculiarity Switch?!

emma-and-oliveOne of the biggest changes that has greatly infuriated me. Olive has the peculiarity that allows her to float in the air, and Emma has the peculiarity that allows her to control fire, right? Well that’s what I had understood from reading Ransom Riggs’ book. But oh no, according to Tim Burton that’s wrong, as he switched the peculiarities. WHY TIM?!

Hollowgast’s entering the loop… WHAT??

So according to the book, only the Peculiar can enter a loop, meaning that whilst inside they are protected from the Hollowgast’s/Hollow’s, whatever you like to call them… So why, Tim Burton, have you compromised the children’s safety and allowed the Hollowgast’s entrance into the loop therefore meaning  Miss Avecet is puled through a wall and poor old Enoch is given a good bashing around the room by one?

The Stand -Off In The Lighthouse! Wait.. What Do You Mean It’s Been Moved To Blackpool? But Why?

Yep, you may as well forget that whole intense scene at the end of the book where Jacob and Emma go to rescue Miss Peregrine from Dr Golan at the lighthouse, and the sad moment where Millard gets shot, because we’re peregrines_main-1280x600leaving Wales and heading over to Blackpool, where some strange Pirates of the Caribbean antics are going to go down and skeletons are going to come to life to help protect the children. Yes, you heard me correctly, these slenderman looking creatures that nobody can see, who are greatly feared and eat the eyeballs of children, (which again has been changed, as in the book the Hollows eat the SOULS of the children) are going to be defeated by walking bones, fabulous.

So those are just a few of the changes that were made during the film adaptation, but trust me when I say there are so many more! I understand that it is rare for a film adaptation to remain 100% true to it’s book, but Tim Burton made so many changes that were just unnecessary and therefore compromised my enjoyment of this film. Not only that, but I definitely think that the film adaption was far more creepier than the book and inappropriate for younger audiences, despite the cinema being filled with young children when I went to watch the film. Had I have watched the film before reading the book, I think I may have enjoyed it that little bit extra, but instead I found myself becoming more and more aggravated by the inaccuracy of it.

Have you been to see ‘Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children’? Let me know your feelings toward both the film and the book in the comments below!

Keep On Reading!

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Tuesday: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

  1. My biggest thing was the whole eating eyeballs, I was just like why? Why make them eat eyeballs? It’s so strange, also Emma’s power changing confused me and left me wondering why they decided to switch when fire (in my opinion) is so much more baddass.

    I did really enjoy the actors and thought they did a great job as peculiar’s and liked that the twins could turn people to stone! I was having Doctor Who flash backs all through that, so creepy DX I enjoyed the movie but I also wasn’t as in love with the book so the changes didn’t phase me as much as I new it would people who loved the book.

    Also what was that last fight scene? I mean cotten candy to make them visible? Why do we need Jacob at all when people can now just carry a bag or flour around and throw it when they feel like one of the monsters might be around?

    Great post! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I felt the same, I just didn’t connect to much with Jacob, I still have the last two books and I plan on reading them But I just can’t find the motivation to pick them up just yet 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

