The Shadowhunter Chronicles

Confused as to which order you should be reading Cassandra Clare’s novels? Unsure of where to start? Welcome to the world of The Shadowhunter Chronicles!


It’s easy to feel overwhelmed by the endless amounts of novels Clare produces in regards to the Shadowhunter world, and deciding where to start can be a confusing and daunting process! When I began to read them originally, there was only ‘The Mortal Instruments’ to choose from, so it was pretty self explanatory to begin with ‘City of Bones’ and continue through to ‘City of Heavenly Fire’, following Jace, Clary and the rest of the Shadowhunters and Downworlders through their journey. However the choice of where to start has expanded and now includes ‘The Mortal Instruments’, ‘The Infernal Devices’ trilogy, ‘The Shadowhunters Codex’, ‘The Bane Chronicles’, and the first book of the new trilogy ‘The Dark Artifices’, and the list will only continue to grow with the future releases of new books and potential trilogies!

So, where do we start? It would appear, that, given ‘The Mortal Instruments’ was the first series to be published, you would start there, am I right? Of course, there’s nothing wrong with doing that, but Cassandra Clare has come forward and given her recommendations on what order to read her fantastic books, so have no fear fellow mundanes, and be overwhelmed no longer! 

Clare suggests that you start your journey into the Shadowhunter world with book one of ‘The Mortal Instruments’ – ‘City of Bones’. From here you go on to read ‘City of Ashes’ (book two) and then ‘City of Glass’ (Book three). We’ll call this ‘The Mortal Instruments Part 1’, as after reading these three books, Clare suggests you then read all three books in ‘The Infernal Devices’ trilogy – ‘Clockwork Angel’ (book one), ‘Clockwork Prince’ (book two), and ‘Clockwork Princess’ (book three). This is due to the storylines intertwining with each other, despite being set in different time periods and locations. It is then suggested that you read what we will refer to as ‘The Mortal Instruments Part 2’ – ‘City of Fallen Angels’ (book four), ‘City of Lost Souls’ (book five) and finally ‘City of Heavenly Fire’ (book six). Clare then advises that you read ‘The Bane Chronicles’, ‘The Shadowhunter’s Codex’, and then ‘Lady Midnight’, the first book in ‘The Dark Artifices’ trilogy. 

Of course, with more books to be released in the future, it’s unknown as to whether the suggested reading order will be changed, and you don’t have to read them in this order! It’s more than okay to read all of ‘The Mortal Instruments’ and then all of ‘The Infernal Devices’ chronologically! 

Look out for my upcoming review on ‘The Mortal Instruments Part 1’ coming soon!

Keep On Reading!




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s